Where in the world has DM Smith been?

It has been a while since I have posted, truthfully, I have been busy being awesome in life! Thanks to my wonderful blogging skills, I landed an offer to publish a book for The History Press publishing company. I published “Haunted Auburn and Opelika” in 2011, which I co-authored with some good friends. I also just released my second book in October, “Legends, Lore & True Tales of the Chattahoochee” (also published through The History Press).
I kept my day job, writing for regional-based history publishers will probably not make you a millionaire, but every now and then you can get a nice royalty check to pay back your out of pocket expenses. After two years of a fifty hour day job and a twenty hour writing gig, plus my volunteer obligations, I decided to break from it all except my bill payer.
Now that I have a little more time on my hands, I can get back to what is important to me, which is focusing on my family, to include our financial situation. One of the things I wanted to focus on was investing. We are in a good place financially. We have a low-interest rate on our mortgage as well as a low monthly payment to include taxes and insurance. We have both cars paid off and only one outstanding loan we used to consolidate credit cards we used in our not-as-smart days.
We currently invest in both Lending Club, a peer-to-peer lending sight, which I will talk more about later, as well as Betterment which is a program that invests for you. We don’t invest much, only about $75 bi-monthly right now but I am aiming to improve this.
That’s what’s been up with me. I hope to focus more on the blog now that I have more time, so I hope I will find some good nuggets of knowledge to share with you all!

Leave a Reply

