Frugal Fridays: Thrift Stores and Antique Malls

Buying great finds at thrift stores and antique malls instead of expensive department stores can save you money. Have a plan when you go and know what you are looking for to help you save time and money.

Last month I needed a chest to store blankets in, I went to the local antique mall and searched for one. I knew there would be a jewel in the making somewhere in the store. I passed many chests that cost a fortune, but I found the greatest old tool chest, hand made, ornate and sturdy for only $60. I knew someone took time making it and I had no qualms spending that compared to the rest that were $250, there and at World Market or Hobby Lobby. It made a great addition to my home and was exactly what I wanted.

Tip: Don’t be afraid to take your time with a purchase. I once searched five different antique stores for sterling silver goblets for my wedding over a period of a few months. They were $9.00 for the set, $90 at the jewelry store and all mine needed was a little polish. Find something someone once loved and you love it too.

image
Look at the intricate detail on this chest. Whoever made it loved it and now I do too.
Leave a Reply

